SuperNOVA2 Scroll Chuck

SN2

I recently purchased a new Teknatool SuperNOVA2 scroll chuck on Amazon. This is a supreme upgrade from the Grizzly H7605 I started with when getting into wood turning.  The fit and finish are fantastic and the jaws very securely hold the workpiece. So far I’ve only used it with the mini spigot jaws to support some small workpieces, looking forward to trying the 50mm jaw set soon along with the wood worm screw.

The only thing I’m not content with is the ball end of the included T-handle.  As others have mentioned, this lessens the contact area between the adjusting pinion socket and the tool which several folks have had problems with rounding out.  I will be grinding this ball end off in favor of a straight allen wrench style end.  I don’t see the need to be able to pivot the tool away from the work piece, and if I ever run across that scenerio, I will simply use a standard allen wrench to tighten the chuck.

Also, most sites still state that this product comes with a 2-year warranty, which is no longer correct. On September 1, 2015 Teknatool trippled the warranty offered on all their chucks. They are also retroactively covering all chucks purchased in 2015 with this new 6-year warranty.   One thing I’ve heard is that the Record Power, who offers a 5-year warranty on their products, produce accessory jaws which are directly compatible with the bolt mounting pattern of the Teknatool chucks. Is this cheezy marketing hype, or is Teknatool as proud of their products as they seem to be? Truthfully, I suspect both. However, I have no reason to believe this tool will last the 6 years and beyond, it seems be be build like a rock.


Mike Waldt did a fantastic job detailing Chuck and Jaw Setup and Maintenance.  In this video he describes the best way to ensure your jaws are aligned to their truest, along with some tips on cleaning and maintaining to keep it operating smoothly.

About

Grandpa, Data Junkie, Woodturner, Electronic Dabbler

Posted in MicroShop, Tools, woodturning, Woodworking

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.