LLWW 2016 Pen Swap

Lynn Lacey Woodworks sponsored the LLWW 2016 Pen Swap on YouTube, stipulating that the pens were to be “segmented” containing at least one cut within the blank.  He then randomly paired up creators from near and far to participate in a one-to-one pen exchange. This was my first YouTube based event to participate in, and was a lot of fun. My exhcange Partner is John Creasey from Sydney Australia.  John has a machine shop set up in his garage and does his pen making via milling machine and metal lathe.

This is the pen I sent John, a Sierra with Zebra wood with Purple Heart Bands and capped by Bubinga with a stripe of Padauk running lengthwise.

YT_Thumbnail

 

The pen John created for me is the Australiana Elegant Beauty — It features the an engraved Southern Cross Cap and Wattle Floral Centerband.  His blank features aluminum and phenolic in a chevron design.  This is a great pen, thank you John, I love it!

LLWW2016John

I am looking forward to the 2017 event and trying out more new and interesting features.  If I can get my CPU to stay cool enough, I hope to render the video for my first official YouTube content by the weekend.

Video about John’s pen being created:

And John creating my pen:

 

About

Grandpa, Data Junkie, Woodturner, Electronic Dabbler

Tagged with:
Posted in Pen Creations, woodturning

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.